Skip to Content


Closing ceremony was a dance and a celebration of community – the next Open Masters Series will be held in Italy in 2027


The stage was filled with cheering EMG2023 athletes and local sports friends, and not even a little summer rain spoiled the festive ceremony. 

The evening, hosted by Kaj Kunnas, featured Argentinean tango and speeches from IMGA President Sergey Bubka and Perttu Pesä, Event Director of the City of Tampere, among others.

– I finally did it and got my own silver medal,” says Pesä to rapturous applause from the crowd. 

– There’s always that day in every event when it’s time to say goodbye. EMG2023 has been a great sporting competition and a festival at the same time. I want to say thank you to all of you athletes and participants who created a great atmosphere in Tampere with your presence,” says Pesä.

– Dear athletes, friends and colleagues. I feel a bit sad when the days go by so fast at events, we just opened the event. I have followed your fantastic organisation of the competition events, the dedication of the athletes to the sport and your amazing successes over the past two weeks.  I sincerely hope that you have created everlasting friendships, promoted healthy lifestyles through our event and been culturally enriched by the setting that Tampere offers, which will sustain you for a long time to come, also for our future events. A big thank you to all of you”, Bubka concludes his speech to rapturous applause.

As the rainy clouds cleared, the sun’s rays brought a perfect summer evening to Laikunlava and the joy burst into a collective dance as the DJ played the legendary DJ Ötzi’s “Hey Baby” and Lunddance got the crowd of hundreds dancing wildly in Keskustori Park.  

In the closing ceremony, Pesä and Bubka symbolically handed over the IMGA flag to the next organiser of the event, Mayor of Como Alessandro Rapinese.  The Open Masters Series will be held in Lake Como, Italy in 2027. 

*The European Masters Games will continue under the new event name “Open Masters Series” from the Italian 2027 event.

(C) Joonas Caven
Alessandro Rapinese, Sergey Bubka & Perttu Pesä. (C) Tampereen Kameraseura, Pinja Irri.

© European Masters Games 2023. Designed by Mainostoimisto AATE